Destigmatizing Online Dating

C8J73F Girl smiling using laptop

Digital technology and Smartphones have transformed many aspects of our society, including how people seek out and establish romantic relationships.  Attitudes toward online dating have become more positive over time.  It doesn’t have the negative stigma that it used to as more and more Americans go online to find love.  In general online daters themselves give the experience high marks.  In 2016 79% of online daters agree that dating online is a good way to meet people.  70% agree that it helps people find a better romantic match because they have access to a wide range of potential partners.  Familiarity of online dating through usage by friends and family members has increased dramatically.  42% of all Americans know an online dater and 29% of Americans know someone who has used online dating to find a spouse or long term relationship.

People in nearly every demographic group, old, and young, men and women, urbanites and rural dwellers alike, use online dating.  This is especially true for those in the upper end of the socio-economic spectrum. Even as online daters have largely positive opinions of the process, negative experiences with online dating sites are relatively common.  Half of online daters, 54% have met someone who seriously misrepresented themselves in their profile.

Okay so it’s not an exact science and you’re always going to have your bad apples.  However, overall the report is a positive one one.  5% of Americans who are currently married or in long term relationships have met their partner online.  Personally I have to say that starting out I was skeptical as well when I tried online dating before I was married.  I was well received online and would get a lot of responses, but I didn’t go out on a lot of dates, or even respond to half the people that messaged me.  Because I was looking for quality over quantity.  So after some time went by and I still had not meant anyone of significance, I was ready to throw in the towel.  I was nearly convinced that I would not meet anyone suitable for me online.  And then…. I met my Husband!!! (See pictures on the “About the Author” page)  So yeah, I have to give it a thumbs up!!!  My advice, be patient because when you find the right person it will be totally worth it.

 

FT_16.02.29_onlineDating_attitudes

PI_2016.02.11_Online-Dating_0-01

christianmingle

Christian-Cafe-Free-Trial

realchristianmathcing2

  • Okay, you’ve found someone who you think is interesting and the next step is to get to know them better.  Your date is set.  Below are more tips on making a good first impression on a date.

20130703-christianmingle2

274229

123012052290

Verse of the day:

Psalm_3116

Thoughts or comments on this post?  We’d love to hear from you.
Click the “Leave a Comment” link below.  ♥

Leave a Reply

